iTunes Users – Beware of BIOS Updates

This weekend I went and downloaded a BIOS update for my computer and discovered a nasty little side effect – all of my iTunes songs that I had purchased required re-authorization. Apparently, iTunes uses your computer’s BIOS (or a hash of it, or something) to uniquely identify your computer. So, if you update your BIOS, it’s as if you had transferred all your iTunes songs to a new computer. And since you only get 5 transfers per song… well you always want to minimize the number of transfers.

Just a nasty little secret of iTunes (and DRM – digital rights management) that I discovered and wanted to share. Beware!

Published
Categorized as tech

By Keith Survell

Geek, professional programmer, amateur photographer, crazy rabbit guy, only slightly obsessed with cute things.

3 comments

Comments are closed.

Your post must include a link to this post.

How does this work?
Write a response on your own website and include a link to this post. Then submit your response’s URL here. Your response may appear here after moderation. To update or remove it, edit or delete your original post and submit the same URL again. Learn more about Webmentions.